Author Topic: John Faracker DoB c 1820 & Mary Farragher DoB c 1820  (Read 659 times)

Offline Wendwell

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
John Faracker DoB c 1820 & Mary Farragher DoB c 1820
« on: Thursday 17 December 20 17:23 GMT (UK) »
Hi, this is my first time on RootsChat and it is probably a long shot.

I am seeking information about these ancestors who I understand migrated from Co. Mayo to Liverpool as a married couple. It may be that Mary took John's name and ended up with a different spelling due to illiteracy?

Has anyone come across a marriage in Co Mayo that might have been for this couple?

My late father left notes on his research. I am trying to update and where possible extend them.

My dad had John Farracker's occupation as Mariner and thought this might account for lack of Census information.

Best wishes of the season

Wendwell

Offline LH

• RootsChat Veteran
    • View Profile
Re: John Faracker DoB c 1820 & Mary Farragher DoB c 1820
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 17 December 20 21:28 GMT (UK) »
Hi

Could the spelling be Faragher?

You can check on www.irishgenealogy.ie under Civil Records, and will see deaths of a number of Faragher folk, mostly around Ballinrobe, Co. Mayo.  These people were born around the same time as your John.

There are numerous Faragher folk listed, nearly all from Ballinrobe, Co Mayo but a few in nearby Galway.

Do you know where your John came from?

Kind regards

Offline Wendwell

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Thursday 17 December 20 23:01 GMT (UK) »
Many thanks for your prompt reply and helpful suggestions.

It may well be that other spellings of the last names were used for John and Mary, especially if they relied on others to write what they said.

I have no more precise information than Co. Mayo and even this comes from word-of-mouth. I imagine my father heard older people mentiong it as he was growing up in the 1920s.