Author Topic: Help on what would govren which regiment you went into ...  (Read 123 times)

Offline Kate_genedetective

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Help on what would govren which regiment you went into ...
« on: Thursday 18 February 21 10:45 GMT (UK) »
Hello!
I am not very experienced in military history - I am wandering if anyone has any knowledge of why people might join a certain regiment and also is there any documentation on where these regiments were based? We are talking mid 1800s here...

I have one of the relatives - Walter Craig, in the 43rd Regiment in the 1850s/ 60s.
Looking this up, it was the Monmouthshire Regiment of Foot at the time  - and I intriged to know why he would have been in this regiment as geographically it does not make sense - he was born in northumberland, and then pops up as a private in the 43rd in Kent at his marriage in 1856 in Chatham, Kent and (his new wife lives no where near this), and then I have him in India on the military 1861 census (which fits with the history of where the regiment was on Wiki)

Does anyone have any ideas??
thanks!

Online rosie99

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Help on what would govren which regiment you went into ...
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 18 February 21 11:11 GMT (UK) »
I think it may depend as to which regiments were recruiting at the time in nearby towns
Census information is Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline ShaunJ

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Thursday 18 February 21 11:12 GMT (UK) »