Author Topic: Birth/baptism record of son of army couple serving in Ireland  (Read 685 times)

Offline GeoffTurner

• RootsChat Veteran
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Birth/baptism record of son of army couple serving in Ireland
« on: Friday 26 February 21 05:51 GMT (UK) »
Hi all,

Thanks for all your help in the past. I have a new query. My 3 x great grandfather John Archibald was born in Dublin about 1800, according to the Scottish Census records. His father, Robert Archibald, was serving in the army there, and his mother, Jacobina (Beany) Dewar accompanied him. Some time after the birth, the family returned to Scotland.

I have a temporary subscription to RootsIreland and can find no mention of him in there or through Irish Genealogy. I realise this is early but I did find some 1802 baptisms in Dublin through Irish Genealogy, and RootsIreland has baptisms even earlier. But not my ancestor.

It occurred to me that perhaps as an army baby he would not be included in the Irish baptisms, and he would instead be listed in some sort of military records. Does anyone know if this is the case, and if so, how these could be accessed?

I am researching from Australia.

Thanks again for all your help.

Geoff Turner

Offline mckha489

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Birth/baptism record of son of army couple serving in Ireland
« Reply #1 on: Friday 26 February 21 06:06 GMT (UK) »
FindMyPast has records eg

Gro Regimental Birth Indices (1761 To 1924)

But, I don’t see John Archibald

Offline Wexflyer

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • Not Crown Copyright
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Friday 26 February 21 07:56 GMT (UK) »
What religion were the Archibalds?

If you check the source material, both RootsIreland and IrishGenealogy only cover Catholic and CofI records for Co. Dublin, at least as far as I can see.