Author Topic: 18th Century Sacred Music Composer, Israel Holdroyd  (Read 529 times)

Offline WideEyedGirl

• RootsChat Senior
  • Great grandma Elsie (right) & sister Evelyn (left)
    • View Profile
18th Century Sacred Music Composer, Israel Holdroyd
« on: Monday 01 March 21 00:44 GMT (UK) »
Hello all,

I'd really appreciate help with tracing my 7x great grandfather Israel Holdroyd.

His daughter Jane Holdroyd is my 6x great grandmother, and she was born in 1725 in Harewood, Yorkshire. Her father, Israel, is named on her baptism record.
From this, it appears her mother may be Mary Byles or Ryles, as there is a marriage between an Israel Holdroyd and a Mary Byles/Ryles at Bradford Cathedral on 9th June 1724 (Israel is said to be of Keighley, and Mary is said to be of Harewood). I haven't found any siblings yet.

I found a page about an Israel Holdroyd being a sacred music composer, I'll include the link below:
https://www.cpdl.org/wiki/index.php/Israel_Holdroyd
Am I right in presuming this is my Israel? I don't know if it is an especially reliable source so I would be very grateful if anyone has any more information on Israel's music and his life. I've tried simply searching for 'Israel Holdroyd music composer' but I haven't had much luck. This Israel (linked above) had a publication in 1722, called 'The Spiritual Man's Companion'.

I'd also be very grateful if anyone knows any general information about music composers in the 1700's. I've never come across this occupation before in my family, so I'd love to know how someone that long ago could become a music composer. Was he likely from a well-to-do family, or a family that could at least afford his music education?

On that note, I'd love help in tracing his family.
There's two baptisms I have found, that I'll list below. Both are near Halifax, Yorkshire. I don't know which is likely to be my Israel.