Author Topic: Gerard O'Connor/Connor/Connors and daughter Johanna of Tralee  (Read 1653 times)

Offline Kyle_Welch

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Gerard O'Connor/Connor/Connors and daughter Johanna of Tralee
« on: Sunday 21 March 21 00:45 GMT (UK) »
I am a novice at ancestry research so please forgive my ignorance. My apologies if I'm violating  forum protocol by posting this here.

I'm researching my great great grandmother Johanna Connors (b 1835 Tralee d 1914 Beaver Dam, Wisconsin) who immigrated from Tralee to Beaver Dam, Wisconsin about 1853.  Her obituary said she was the only daughter of "Gerrard and Mary Conners", and was born in Tralee on May 15th, 1834. When nineteen years of age she came with a party of emigrants from that part of Ireland directly to Beaver Dam, Wisconsin.

The spelling of her maiden name in the obituary is Conners which I suspect is incorrect. Probably Connors or O'Connor/Connor.  Her father's first name could also be Gerard.   

I've been searching parish registers and can't find her being born in Tralee on May 15th, 1834. I see a Gerard O'Connor, a magistrate and an insurance agent living on Denny Street in Tralee. As far as I can tell he was b 1802 and d 1884. It may be Johanna's father but I'm unable to find any connection to a daughter Johanna nor a wife Mary prior to Johanna's stated year of birth. I suppose her year of birth in the obituary could be wrong. US Census records show her as being born between 1829-1831, depending on the year of census.

Any other O'Connor relatives out there connected to Gerard O'Connor of Tralee b 1802 and d 1884?

Best,
Kyle Welch
Sunnyvale, California

Offline shanreagh

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: Gerard O'Connor/Connor/Connors and daughter Johanna of Tralee
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 21 March 21 20:21 GMT (UK) »