Author Topic: Looking for people whose families were involved in slavery  (Read 1146 times)

Offline GoldRimmedLamp

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Looking for people whose families were involved in slavery
« on: Friday 26 March 21 22:37 GMT (UK) »
Hello,

Would anyone be kind enough to help me? I'm an A-Level student and I'm working on a project for Citizenship Studies about Britain's role in slavery.

I recently discovered that my own family had links to slavery, which is why I've chosen this subject. I really want to speak to other people whose families were involved in slavery as slave-owners/slave-traders, to discuss their feelings towards their ancestors and their sense of identity today.

OBVIOUSLY, I won't use any names in my project or anything like that -- everything would be totally anonymous.

I'd be really grateful if anyone would be willing to talk about their family history, and tell me a little about their thoughts and feelings.

I hope it's okay to post this here. This project means a lot to me, and I think genealogy forums are probably the only place I'll be able to find anyone who knows if their ancestors were involved in slavery.

Thank you very much!!

(*) Moderator Comment: e-mail removed in accordance with RootsChat policy,
to avoid spamming and other abuses.

Offline sarah

• Administrator
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • RootsChat Co-Founder
    • View Profile
Re: Looking for people whose families were involved in slavery
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 27 March 21 12:32 GMT (UK) »
Are you looking at it from a certain angle ?

Are you including modern day slavery that is still very much going on ?

Sarah
For Help on how to post an Image on RootsChat
http://www.rootschat.com/forum/index.php?topic=459330.0

If you have been helped on RootsChat be sure to spread the word!

UK Census info. Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline Guy Etchells