Author Topic: (Date & Restore) 19th Century Love Locket Photographs Laurie & Eleanor Hobbs  (Read 1072 times)

Online QueenoftheWest

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Hi everyone,

After admiring the excellent work of the RootsChat photo restorers, I am appealing for help with my own family photos.

My great-aunt passed a little more than a year ago and amongst her possessions I found this beautiful gold heart-shaped locket. I'm not very good at recognising antiques so I initially thought she had bought it fairly recently. However, I looked inside and I found photographs of my great-great-grandparents, Laurie & Eleanor Hobbs!

This was very exciting as prior to this I only had photos of them post-1901. Unfortunately, the photos are very small so the quality isn't great and Laurie's photograph is missing the bottom part but beggars can't be choosers!

I have attached two versions; an edited version for the daters and the originals for the restorers (I read on another post that restorers prefer originals). I did the restore myself but my photo editing skills are rudimentary at best and I have no idea how to improve quality or go about fixing that missing part under Laurie.

For the daters:
Laurie (1856-1936) m. Eleanor (1857-1956) in 1881.

They were both born, raised and died in London.