Author Topic: DNA Ancestry question  (Read 2087 times)

Offline mike6265

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
DNA Ancestry question
« on: Thursday 15 April 21 20:28 BST (UK) »
Hello everyone. I have been doing family history for Nealy 40 years and a couple of years ago had an ancestry DNA test done.
I had a connection 53cM across 4 segments and on contacting this person it proved the system worked!
It was to a cousin sharing gg grandparents on my mother's side (family lost contact about 120 years ago) but on contacting this person we both had the same "carte de visite" of our gg grandparents and similar old paperwork. So the DNA worked OK.
On my father's side I have a connection 47cM across 3 segments to the same generation gg grandfather (MR X) but a different "wife", so we have the true connection to his parents ggg grandparents.
My question is this - MR X had two "partners". Is there a way of finding who is descended from MR X + Lady A and MR X + Lady B. Obviously I have the shared matches from above and others in this line but still working out how to approach the problem.
Hope this is clear!!

Offline Guy Etchells

• Deceased † Rest In Peace
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: DNA Ancestry question
« Reply #1 on: Friday 16 April 21 08:57 BST (UK) »
Hello everyone. I have been doing family history for Nealy 40 years and a couple of years ago had an ancestry DNA test done.
I had a connection 53cM across 4 segments and on contacting this person it proved the system worked!
It was to a cousin sharing gg grandparents on my mother's side (family lost contact about 120 years ago) but on contacting this person we both had the same "carte de visite" of our gg grandparents and similar old paperwork. So the DNA worked OK.