Author Topic: 23&Me  (Read 611 times)

Offline Janethepain

• RootsChat Senior
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.natio
    • View Profile
23&Me
« on: Wednesday 12 May 21 16:40 BST (UK) »
So I am British based, from Central Scotland, but overwhelmingly Irish in origin, with anything not Irish, being Scottish that was probably or previously Irish anyway! I have been doing genealogy for >10 years, and did Ancestry DNA in 2018, I think. I have lots and lots of matches, lots in one quarter of my tree (Maternal/Maternal), but matches throughout the rest of the tree, in various degrees too. Kept busy working on my matches for 3 years now, but hampered that I cant use DNA painter or other clustering tools  to link loads of known matches, to the unknown ones, of probably american origin, due to the high number of Irish emigrants to USA over the last 200 years, because Ancestry does not have chromasome browser tools.

I decided to do a 23& me test, for that reason, and also because that is the only database I am not in, having previously transferred to My Heritage, FTDNA & Gedmatch.  I an not over estimating  how my results will be, because I know they (23&me), are highly USA based, but feel that at least they will be USA matches with chromosome segment details, and which I may be able to use with clustering tools!  I have previously used clustering, but due to the limited database I have had limited returns, especially with Gedmatch, which is annoying as they have great tools, especially on Tier 1, but I have few matches, and  the close ones I know about anyway, while the next lot are very low cM.

So just wondering how have others with British/Irish origins found 23&Me to be??  Posted off nearly 20 days ago, but not marked as received yet, but nevertheless I'm getting excited!  How have others found it?? How I look at it, as a covid spend, it was not that expensive, and if I find a few maches as yet unknown, welll I will be satisfied!!