Author Topic: ww2 merchant navy war records  (Read 452 times)

Offline lesleyhannah

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
ww2 merchant navy war records
« on: Wednesday 12 May 21 16:42 BST (UK) »
Hi - I'm making this query on behalf of my son-in-law. He wants to get hold of his father's war record - his father was in the merchant navy and apparently served in 2 separate ships which were torpedoed - at least one of these episodes featured in the Liverpool newspaper.
I have no experience of applying for merchant navy records but I seem to remember when I applied for my father's RAF records I had to prove I was the next of kin, so I guess this might also apply to the merchant navy records.
Can anyone give us a link to where my son-in-law could get more information please?

Thanks Lesley

Offline rosie99

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • ALFIE 2009 - 2021 (Rosbercon Sky's the Limit)
    • View Profile
Census information is Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline seaweed

• Deceased † Rest In Peace
  • RootsChat Aristocrat
  • I'll see you one day in Fiddlers Green.
    • View Profile
Re: ww2 merchant navy war records
« Reply #2 on: Wednesday 12 May 21 17:23 BST (UK) »
Hi - I'm making this query on behalf of my son-in-law. He wants to get hold of his father's war record - his father was in the merchant navy and apparently served in 2 separate ships which were torpedoed - at least one of these episodes featured in the Liverpool newspaper.
I have no experience of applying for merchant navy records but I seem to remember when I applied for my father's RAF records I had to prove I was the next of kin, so I guess this might also apply to the merchant navy records.
Can anyone give us a link to where my son-in-law could get more information please?

Thanks Lesley

Are you in a position to give us the name and date and place of birth of the person you are interested in.