Author Topic: When the records don't show the full truth - a cautionary tale  (Read 1188 times)

Offline Stanwix England

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • Hopeless scatterbrain
    • View Profile
When the records don't show the full truth - a cautionary tale
« on: Tuesday 18 May 21 19:07 BST (UK) »
Hi everyone,

This is a cautionary tale, which I am sharing so that others can learn from my mistakes.

I am an amateur, obviously, and have been studying my own family history sporadically for over ten years. I've struggled for a few reasons - chronic illness and dyslexia make it hard to grapple with records - but even though I still make mistakes I've learned lots along the way.

One naive thing I believed was that the records couldn't 'lie' and that people didn't misrepresent themselves.

However in the case of one family member that has turned out not to be true.

Some of you will have seen my various threads about Ralph Harwood, who I previously believed to be my 2x Great Grandfather. I derived part of my username, Stanwix from him as he was descended from that line.

I got my great grandmothers birth certificate years ago and noticed that the section for Father was left blank. Naively I didn't know what that meant, and because she had the surname Harwood, I assumed that she had to be Ralph's child. Plus, she had given Ralph's name on her marriage certificate years later. So I just took it all at face value.

Ralph is not to be found on any records living with his family from after 1881. I'd always assumed that maybe he died or just wasn't in the family home on census day.

My GG Grandmother was living with another man as his servant in 1891. She had to be pregnant with my G Grandmother at the time. Again, it didn't dawn on me.