Author Topic: Annie Kerr  (Read 3767 times)

Offline i-z-z-y

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Annie Kerr
« on: Monday 21 June 21 21:23 BST (UK) »
Hello all,

I am new to researching the Irish side of my family tree and wondered if anyone could point me in the right direction. My great grandmother has long been a mystery in our family tree and we can't seem to find out much about her.

This is what I have so far to go on -

She was born in somewhere in Ireland in abt. 1872.
She grew up in Glasgow with her grandmother.
She married my great grandfather, Fredrick Harvey Gooding, in 1895.
She died in 1929 in Wandsworth, Greater London.
Her father was James Kerr, he was a Tailor and he died before 1895 - according to her marriage certificate.

The only other information I have that may or may not be helpful is a DNA match 4th cousin whose great grandmother was Mary Jane (Minnie) Kerr born in Ireland 1873/4 but not really sure if this is coincidental or Mary could be Annie's cousin/sister.

I would be so grateful for any help or advice with this. I feel like I am going round in circles with it!!

Many thanks
Izzy

Offline eileenwilson

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: Annie Kerr
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 22 June 21 14:13 BST (UK) »
Her marriage record in Scotland should name her mother. Have you found her in the Scottish census records at all.  There are a couple of possibilities in the 1891 census living in Glasgow all born in Ireland at the right time working as a servant.

Offline rosie17

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Tuesday 22 June 21 14:29 BST (UK) »
Hi Izzzy and welcome to rootschat is that your tree on Ancestry that has Mary Jane Kerr down as the sister of Annie ?

Rosie

Offline eileenwilson

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Tuesday 22 June 21 14:30 BST (UK) »