Author Topic: Why do I need to enter password.  (Read 724 times)

Offline VICTORIA

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 3,641
  • AT SPES INFRACTA
    • View Profile
Why do I need to enter password.
« on: Thursday 15 July 21 10:15 BST (UK) »
Hi can anyone tell me why after changing name of previous user of pc to me I now have to enter password to open up and pc takes ages to open.
Any help appreciated. Previous user family member.
Victoria
COLBECK,WHITEHAVEN CUMBERLAND
COLEBECK,HOPE,MILLER,LIVERPOOL
SCHAMBERG,MEMMEL PRUSSIA
ROCHE,ROACH,MAHER,FOY IRELAND
SANDFORD.TYNAN, LIVERPOOL.
HUBBARD,TAYLOR KENT.
HOPE NORTHUMBERLAND
SANDFORD NEWCASTLE/UPON/TYNE.



LANCASTER,GOWLAND,NORTHUMBERLAND
FOY, ROSCOMMON IRELAND,LIVERPOOL.
SMITH,HAMPSHIRE, & LIVERPOOL
SEALES SURREY CRADDOCK,HAMPSHIRE

Online Gadget

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 53,083
    • View Profile
Re: Why do I need to enter password.
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 15 July 21 10:21 BST (UK) »
What operating system do yo\u have?

If it's Win10, you have to enter a password or PIN.

Gadget
Census &  BMD information Crown Copyright www.nationalarchives.gov.uk and GROS - www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk

***Restorers - Please do not use my restores without my permission. Thanks***

Offline majm

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 24,446
  • NSW 1806 Bowman Flag Ecce signum.
    • View Profile
Re: Why do I need to enter password.
« Reply #2 on: Thursday 15 July 21 10:23 BST (UK) »
The p.c. doesn't know much. 

 ;D   It has NO manners and has no way of recognising that it's previous owner has handed it over to another family member. 

 ;D It needs a defrag ....

 ;D It has a password to stop others from accessing your files. 

ADD  ... yes, Gadget is spot on,  my Windows 10 needs a PIN .... I chose a 4 digit PIN for mine.   

JM

The information in my posts is provided for academic and non-commercial research purposes. 
Random Acts of Kindness Given Freely are never Worthless for they are Priceless.
Qui scit et non docet.    Qui docet et non vivit.    Qui nescit et non interrogat.   
All Census Look Ups Are Crown Copyright from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
I do not have a face book or a twitter account.


Offline VICTORIA

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 3,641
  • AT SPES INFRACTA
    • View Profile
Re: Why do I need to enter password.
« Reply #3 on: Thursday 15 July 21 10:29 BST (UK) »
Thank You. My pc is Windows 8 how do you defrag.
Victoria Sorry my pc is Windows 10 :-[ :-[
COLBECK,WHITEHAVEN CUMBERLAND
COLEBECK,HOPE,MILLER,LIVERPOOL
SCHAMBERG,MEMMEL PRUSSIA
ROCHE,ROACH,MAHER,FOY IRELAND
SANDFORD.TYNAN, LIVERPOOL.
HUBBARD,TAYLOR KENT.
HOPE NORTHUMBERLAND
SANDFORD NEWCASTLE/UPON/TYNE.



LANCASTER,GOWLAND,NORTHUMBERLAND
FOY, ROSCOMMON IRELAND,LIVERPOOL.
SMITH,HAMPSHIRE, & LIVERPOOL
SEALES SURREY CRADDOCK,HAMPSHIRE

Offline andrewalston

  • RootsChat Aristocrat
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,577
  • My granddad
    • View Profile
Re: Why do I need to enter password.
« Reply #4 on: Thursday 15 July 21 10:44 BST (UK) »
Don't worry about defrag. Windows has been doing that in the background since version 7.

If there are multiple users set up on a PC, you will always be presented with a logon screen, asking you which one you are. There will be a space on there for a password, whether you have one or not.

If there is only a single user, AND that user has no password, Windows can go straight through to the desktop.

It is possible, by setting a couple of entries in the Registry, to log on automatically. Windows can figure out the "usual" username and password and then use them. This has security implications, because things other than Windows can read that password from the Registry. My mum's laptop is set up that way; it automatically logs on as her. If I need to make changes, I can log her off, then log in as myself with a lot more rights.

Looking at ALSTON in south Ribble area, ALSTEAD and DONBAVAND/DUNBABIN etc. everywhere, HOWCROFT and MARSH in Bolton and Westhoughton, PICKERING in the Whitehaven area.

Census information is Crown Copyright. See www.nationalarchives.gov.uk for details.

Offline LizzieW

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 10,798
  • I'm nearer to finding out who you are thanks DNA
    • View Profile
Re: Why do I need to enter password.
« Reply #5 on: Thursday 15 July 21 10:47 BST (UK) »
Quote
If it's Win10, you have to enter a password or PIN.

No you don't, neither I nor my husband have pins or passwords to open our PCs.  I thought you had to have a password because that's what Windows 10 defaults to, but my husband just ignored the instruction when he bought a new tablet and when I got a new laptop last year, the computer bod who came to set it up and transfer all my programs etc. from my old laptop also said you don't need a password and he, too, by-passed the system.  It suits us, although it might not suit other people.

Online Gadget

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 53,083
    • View Profile
Re: Why do I need to enter password.
« Reply #6 on: Thursday 15 July 21 10:51 BST (UK) »
I think it is essential for mobile machines and is really like a burglar alarm key.  It's unwise not to have extra protection.
Census &  BMD information Crown Copyright www.nationalarchives.gov.uk and GROS - www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk

***Restorers - Please do not use my restores without my permission. Thanks***

Offline andrewalston

  • RootsChat Aristocrat
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,577
  • My granddad
    • View Profile
Re: Why do I need to enter password.
« Reply #7 on: Thursday 15 July 21 10:56 BST (UK) »
I must say that I'm a fan of fingerprint recognition. Many business laptops have this feature. You train the software with a few of your fingers, then at logon you swipe one of these, then the software provides the matching credentials to the operating system.

The best one I used was on a company-issue Lenovo, where those credentials were held in the BIOS area. Open the lid and swipe your finger. The laptop powers up and boots. Those credentials are then passed on to Windows and you are logged on. This is a real boon when you are forced to use complex passwords with a minimum length of 14 characters.
Looking at ALSTON in south Ribble area, ALSTEAD and DONBAVAND/DUNBABIN etc. everywhere, HOWCROFT and MARSH in Bolton and Westhoughton, PICKERING in the Whitehaven area.

Census information is Crown Copyright. See www.nationalarchives.gov.uk for details.

Offline VICTORIA

  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • *******
  • Posts: 3,641
  • AT SPES INFRACTA
    • View Profile
Re: Why do I need to enter password.
« Reply #8 on: Thursday 15 July 21 11:01 BST (UK) »
Thanks everyone for your help. I will continue to use password.
Victoria
COLBECK,WHITEHAVEN CUMBERLAND
COLEBECK,HOPE,MILLER,LIVERPOOL
SCHAMBERG,MEMMEL PRUSSIA
ROCHE,ROACH,MAHER,FOY IRELAND
SANDFORD.TYNAN, LIVERPOOL.
HUBBARD,TAYLOR KENT.
HOPE NORTHUMBERLAND
SANDFORD NEWCASTLE/UPON/TYNE.



LANCASTER,GOWLAND,NORTHUMBERLAND
FOY, ROSCOMMON IRELAND,LIVERPOOL.
SMITH,HAMPSHIRE, & LIVERPOOL
SEALES SURREY CRADDOCK,HAMPSHIRE