Author Topic: Anthony John 1903 - 1956  (Read 1629 times)

Offline M27DDA

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Anthony John 1903 - 1956
« on: Friday 30 July 21 20:02 BST (UK) »
Evening all,

New to the forum and many years since using a forum but hoping to make to a regular resource for my research.

I would say I am relatively new to genealogy researching for just over a year now and reached what is my first real brick wall.

The person in question is who would had been my partners Great Grandfather 'Anthony John' to who's origins remain unknown.

With my research and findings I believe the following to be true.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

We know from 1925 Anthony settled in Hartlepool, UK marrying his first wife Harriet Lodge in 1925 to whom he had 4 children (2 died in infancy) before Harriet died in 1935. Anthony went on to marry again in 1938 to a Margaret Mathews who he would have another 3 children with.

Anthony worked in the merchant navy his whole working life till he was dismissed during the 2nd world war and never worked again after that till he died in 1956 in Hartlepool.

After many searches in the BMD index for Anthonys birth I believe Anthony was born 7th December 1903 in Agra, Uttar Pradesh, India. I am the first to make make this connection and believe it.

The reasons I came to this conclusion is through the following sources.

In the 1939 register of the UK Anthonys birth date is recorded as 07/12/1901. After this I found a baptism record for an Anthony John in Arga born on 7/12/1903 and for many month I believed this was the Anthony I was looking for ... Unfortunately in the parents column it says unknown.

After a few month I find a newspaper clipping that ties this theory together and it read.