Author Topic: Is MyHeritage usually wrong?  (Read 569 times)

Offline Jonathan__Bissett88

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Is MyHeritage usually wrong?
« on: Sunday 11 September 22 00:09 BST (UK) »
Hi, my name is Jonathan and I am fairly new to the whole DNA and family tree stuff. I have done a basic tree, and even got my parents to do a DNA test to help create a bigger idea of both sides of family ancestry, but have a few questions regarding MyHeritage!

Please could somebody help and explain how I have ethnicities that neither of my parents have, I have searched online and it just comes up with the whole "it's only a guess" and " DNA looks simmilar between different regions, it will be a wrong guess" sort of thing!

Thanks for your time, Jonathan.

Offline Biggles50

• RootsChat Veteran
    • View Profile
Re: Is MyHeritage usually wrong?
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 11 September 22 18:28 BST (UK) »
I would not be concerned at all about Ethnicities.

The algorithms used are only as good as the information in the database that My Heritage uses.

I am on both My Heritage and Ancestry and one would think that the ethnicities that each give for me is actually for two different people the differences are so vast.

The only thing that really matters is the cM values of your matches including your parents.

If you are feeling flush with cash you may like to get each of your parents to do a gender specific DNA test.  yDNA will go from male to male only and an mtDNA female to female.

It could be useful also to sound out Cousins from both sides and get them to test.

Offline Gadget

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Sunday 11 September 22 19:12 BST (UK) »
I agree with Biggles - dont't worry about ethnicity and concentrate on your shared matches.

Gadget
Census &  BMD information Crown Copyright www.nationalarchives.gov.uk and GROS - www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk