Author Topic: RICKARDS  (Read 7020 times)

Offline KRick

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
RICKARDS
« on: Thursday 21 April 11 13:52 BST (UK) »
Hi, I am new to Roots chat today.
Looking for anything at all on ARTHUR RICKARDS, a minister at Hartshorne Derbyshire round about the early 1600's.  Am a descendent and have most of the direct family tree back to that time through the Wirksworth Parish Records.  He had 2 sons, Arthur and Benjamin (born about 1638, died 27th August 1675 and buried in St Peters Church Nottingham).
Kate

Offline erick

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Re: RICKARDS
« Reply #1 on: Friday 13 May 11 21:59 BST (UK) »
Hi Kate,
I am also a descendant and tracing this line. I went to Hartshorne on Tuesday as luck would have it - no sign of any Rickards in the churchyard, though the graves have mostly been overgrown now. I couldn't get into the church but I did speak with the vicar who said that he did not recall the name (Samuel was Rector there following Arthur). I believe Arthur was son of a Shropshire commoner though have no proper proof. He married a Rebecca Porter. Which line do you descend from? Em

Offline KRick

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Saturday 14 May 11 12:19 BST (UK) »
Wow, hello Em! 
I didn't think I would get any sort of reply on this, so it is great to hear from you.  I come down from Arthur Rickards's son Benjamin (married Elizabeth Parker), baptised 30/4/1638, died 27/8/1675 aged 37.  Although he died young, he managed to have 8 children and my ancestor is Benjamin's son Samuel.  There are quite a few Benjamins and Samuels after that, but it is wonderful to be able to trace the line back this far.  If you have any more info on the Shropshire connection, I would love to hear about it, and perhaps you can let me know who your ancestors were then.