Author Topic: access to records in auckland nz  (Read 18107 times)

Offline valmai

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
access to records in auckland nz
« on: Wednesday 28 January 04 20:31 GMT (UK) »
i am able to look stuff up in the auckland central library, and would be glad to help if anyone wants anything looking up eg obits in newspapers etc.  i am new at this and will be happy to get practice in on your queries!

Offline Lloydy

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Jump into your genes...and dig up your roots
    • View Profile
Re:access to records in auckland nz
« Reply #1 on: Friday 06 February 04 09:58 GMT (UK) »
Would you please be kind enough to look up death records/obits for the following:-

Thomas Trow born 10 Feb 1868 Llandinam, Montgomery, Wales, died 27 Sep 1937 Auckland, NZ.  His wife Margaret Eliza Trow (nee Owen) born 7 Jul 1880 Newtown, Montgomery, Wales, died 24 Jan 1941 Auckland, NZ.  They are both buried in Waikumete, NZ (I hope I've spelt that correctly!).

They emigrated to NZ approx 1895 - 1896, their first son was born in 1897 in NZ.  They had a further 16 children!!!!!

Any information you find would be most appreciated.
All UK Census Transcriptions are Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Bennett, Owen, Owens, Hudson, Crisp, Challinor/Challoner/Chaloner, Lewis, James, Richards, Simon, Mills, Evans, Trow, Davies, Turner, Beaton/Betton, Lloyd, Jenkins, Evans.....and a ton of JONES!!!!

TROW From Wales to New Zealand

Offline Lloydy

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Friday 06 February 04 10:08 GMT (UK) »
Hello again, I forgot to ask the following in my previous message  ::) :-

What records are you able to access?  Am I correct in thinking that NZ doesn't have census records like the UK?  If that is the case, how do you look up families - is it the Electoral Rolls?

Can you also get access to BMD records?

Thank you  :D
All UK Census Transcriptions are Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk