Author Topic: complete beginner, any help?  (Read 12839 times)

Offline ROGibson

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
complete beginner, any help?
« on: Tuesday 03 October 06 21:22 BST (UK) »
ok I'm a complete beginner at this. I have the name of my grandmothers father, Fredrick (Fred) Walker, and his daughter was Elsie Walker who married Joseph Gibson.

Could anybody have a look at the 1901 census and see if anything matches..

Offline Manchester Rambler

• Global Moderator
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: complete beginner, any help?
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 03 October 06 21:25 BST (UK) »
Hello, and welcome to Rootschat!

Do you have any more details to help us search?  When and where was Elsie born, for instance?  Any idea of Frederick's occupation?  I can see 7 or 8 possibilities in 1901, so we need to tie it down a little...  8)

Rambler
ANT: Nesbit, Potts; CHS: Gosling (Hazel Grove/Lymm), Hinton (Lymm), Johnson (Hazel Grove), Marsland (Hazel Grove), Massey (Daresbury), Sorton (Warmingham); LAN: Jackson, James, Potts (Manchester/Salford); MAY: Caulfield, Griffin (Leveelick); SAL: Goodwin, Johnson (Bridgnorth), Gregory (Wellington); STS: Goodwin, Gregory, Johnson (Wolverhampton); Hallett (Trysull); SOM: Dowding, James, Jones (Bath)

Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline ROGibson

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Tuesday 03 October 06 21:29 BST (UK) »
I am almost certain Fredrick worked with horses at some point (if that helps :S) but I am not sure of Elsie's date of birth. I will gather some more information from relatives and post again soon.

Offline trish251

• RootsChat Leaver
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Tuesday 03 October 06 21:30 BST (UK) »
Hi RO

Welcome to roots chat - definitely a good place for beginners & everyone else  ;D