Author Topic: Cause of death: Atrophy  (Read 3600 times)

Offline D ap D

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • Stuck with John Jones in Wales? Join the club!
    • View Profile
Cause of death: Atrophy
« on: Friday 10 December 04 09:03 GMT (UK) »
I received the death cert of my ggggf (Thomas T.)yesterday which confirmed most of what I knew from other sources. One thing puzzled me though: The cause of death. .

Now Thomas was only 29 when he died, and being a mine agent, I though he might have died in a mining accident. Not to be - the cause was given as Atrophy Certified.

I understood atrophy to be :
A wasting or decrease in size of a body organ, tissue, or part owing to disease, injury, or lack of use: muscular atrophy of a person affected with paralysis

and/or

A wasting or decrease in the size of an organ or tissue, as from death and reabsorption of cells, diminished cellular proliferation, pressure, ischemia, malnutrition, decreased function, or hormonal changes. Also called atrophia

Is/was this likely in a 29 year old, with 3 children and one on the way? It must also have been very sudden as the family had only moved from Yorkshire to mid Wales. Such a move and to start a new job seems unlikely with a terminal illness.

Any suggestions anyone?
Stuck with:
William Williams of Llanllyfni
John Jones in Llanelli
Evan Evans in Caio
David Davies of Llansanffraid
Evans: Caio/Carms
Jones: CDG, DEN

Census Information is Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

"Nor do I think that any other nation than this of Wales, or any other tongue, whatever may hereafter come to pass, shall on the day of the great reckoning before the Most High Judge, answer for this corner of the earth": The Old Man of Pencader to Henry II

Offline Welsh Jen

• Dyfal donc a dyr yr garreg!
  • RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: Cause of death: Atrophy
« Reply #1 on: Friday 10 December 04 09:38 GMT (UK) »

I understood atrophy to be :