Author Topic: TURNER Newport baptism lookup  (Read 7636 times)

Offline Old-Bonez

• RootsChat Senior
  • TURNER Jasper Mug c.1780. Friend of Jos Wedgewood
    • View Profile
TURNER Newport baptism lookup
« on: Monday 10 November 08 02:24 GMT (UK) »
I've been researching the Turner family of Brewood & Longton for a couple of years now and have continually drawn a blank when trying to find the parents of the potter John TURNER.

Recently I've found information of Walter TURNER on a grave search in Brewood engraved on the Tomb of Johns wife. Looking at  the dates I conclude that they were most likely brothers. Simple I thought ... look up the church christening records. Another blank from 1730 - 1740

Searching around I find that there is a Turner family in Newport, Shropshire, with sons Walter and John born in the 1730s. Not too far away I thought.

I'm asking if somebody could look up christening records to see if they match at all. John abt 1738 & Walter abt 1732. From this I hope to confirm his parents true names.

From his children's names I deduce the names will be John & Sarah.

Thanks for reading this

Rob
Staffordshire: Turner, Emery, Hyde & Markland
Lancashire: Stirrup, Cloweth
London: Fountain,
Devon: Devonshire, Webb
Stirling: Wingate, 
Australia: Fountain, Turner, Solah, Paskins, Brookfield, Cowle, Trondsen

Offline mauricej

• RootsChat Senior
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: TURNER Newport baptism lookup
« Reply #1 on: Monday 10 November 08 10:31 GMT (UK) »
Hi Rob,

From the Newport records, there's a John Turner, parents John and Sarah, baptised at Newport on January 3rd 1736.

Also, with same parents names, there is Thomas Turner, July 13th 1739, and Elizabeth Turner, Sept 25th 1741; but no Walter.

The only Walter Turner about that time was baptised at Newport on February 5th 1734 to parents Walter and Mary.