Author Topic: Gilligan, Hillsborough, Co Down c 1843  (Read 8051 times)

Offline moominmama

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Gilligan, Hillsborough, Co Down c 1843
« on: Sunday 16 August 09 00:27 BST (UK) »
I'm trying to trace the family of my great grandmother, Emma Gilligan, born in Hillsborough, Co Down circa 1843.  I'm very new to this ancestry business, but have searched all the records available on A*******, and have found no record of her birth anywhere.  I seem to be struggling with the Irish Birth Records thing, can anyone point this beginner in roughly the right direction?  Any help very gratefully received!  Thank you.

Offline maryderry

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: Gilligan, Hillsborough, Co Down c 1843
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 16 August 09 00:40 BST (UK) »
could this be her child.

Record Type Civil Birth
Date of Birth 13 Dec 1867
Gender M
Fathers Name Frederick SMYTH
Mothers Forenames Emma
Mothers Maiden Name GILLIGAN
Civil District  Lisburn
Sub District Hillsborough
County Down

regards mary.
doolin?
quigley- hasson. stewart. lynch. doherty gallagher-derry
mclaughlin-  brennan .moville co. donegal
mctaggart
monaghan

Offline aghadowey

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Sunday 16 August 09 10:01 BST (UK) »
Civil registration of births in Ireland started in 1864 so there will be no birth certificate for Emma Gilligan born c1843. Ancestry have very few Irish records which is why you've had no luck there.
For pre-registration dates you need to check church records (if they exist) but to do so you need to know the family's religion and where they lived.
Away sorting out DNA matches... I may be gone for some time many years!

Offline moominmama

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Sunday 16 August 09 11:31 BST (UK) »