Author Topic: Help Please - Arthur Edwin Westhorp - around 1855  (Read 11468 times)

Offline mrsearch

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Help Please - Arthur Edwin Westhorp - around 1855
« on: Saturday 29 January 11 06:07 GMT (UK) »
Hi - I'm a newbie at genealogical research.  I'm looking for my great grandfather Arthur Edwin Westhorp, born 1855.  He married Alice Lucy Dilks in 1880 in Trinity Church, Trinity Stepney Middlesex.  His father was William Hast Westhorp (Jnr).  Her father (deceased by the time of the marriage) was George Dilks.  I have William H Westhorp's family back two generations, but Arthur seems to have disappeared!   ???

Arthur and Alice had at least one son - Robert Stanley Westhorp (my grandfather) - and possibly another called Gordon.  I have found Alice and Robert in the 1901 census when Alice is the head of the household, and I found Robert (aged 3) in the 1891 census.  Can't find either parent at this time and there's no sign of Gordon at all, tho' I must admit I haven't looked too hard for him.

We have some fascinating family stories about Arthur squandering money, running away and leaving Alice to raise the children as a seamstress, with my grandfather sitting under the sewing machine operating the treadle and reading... but no way of working out yet what actually happened.  Would love to find out more about Arthur if possible but I'm a bit stymied by access to records at the time as his name just doesn't come up.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks so much...
Westhorp - Essex

Offline geniecolgan

• Deceased † Rest In Peace
  • RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: Help Please - Arthur Edwin Westhorp - around 1855
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 29 January 11 06:22 GMT (UK) »
There's a death registered for Arthur Edwin Westhorp ....
Jan - Mar, 1889, West Ham, vol 4a, page 79, aged 34.