Author Topic: Mystery - Robert Eccles Dublin circa 1860's  (Read 13280 times)

Offline hotfix123

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Mystery - Robert Eccles Dublin circa 1860's
« on: Wednesday 20 July 11 02:07 BST (UK) »
Hi,
I'm new to rootschat. Have spent the last few day's reading back over topics in Dublin, Tyrone and Antrim and I'm amazed at the wealth of info offered. So hoping somebody can point me in the right direction with this one.
There is a family story that my 2 x Gr Grandfather Robert Eccles is directly descended from the landed gentry Eccles family of Ecclesville, Fintona, Co. Tyrone. However, I have no evidence to back this up and the first definite record I have is his marriage to Mary Smith, St Paul's Arran Quay, 14th February 1849. No other relevent info is given on that record. I can find him resident at 11 Phibsboro on the 1851 Census, Griffiths Valuation and the 1862 Dublin Street Directory. His occupation is given as Prison Warder on several records, the earliest I have found being 1849. His youngest son was born 1862 and thereafter I lose him. I can find no record of his death suggesting he may have died pre 1864. I can find no burial for him although his wife and a couple of his sons a were later buried in Glasnevin.
I have a possible birth/baptism for him, Robert Eccles, Jan 1827, St Georges CofI Dublin, son of Cuthbert & Catherine Eccles, Eccles Street, Dublin (which would be at least partly consistant with the family story). Cuthbert & Catherine Eccles also had a daughter Mary Anne and the baptism of one of Roberts sons was sponsored by a Marianne Eccles (a tenuous connection).
If the Robert Eccles baptised St Georges 1827 is my Robert Eccles and given the status of Cuthbert Eccles Esq. of Eccles Street how likely is it that he would have married a catholic?