Author Topic: Delany Family in Wexford  (Read 2876 times)

Offline Pipzilla

• RootsChat Pioneer
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Delany Family in Wexford
« on: Wednesday 21 March 12 03:35 GMT (UK) »
Hi everyone
I've never used this sort of thing before so I'm not altogether certain if I am using it right.  Please forgive me if I am not.
The last of my fathers siblings passed away a couple of years ago and I have no idea where any of my cousins are.  Apparently my Aunt was putting together a family tree but I can no longer obtain that information.
I live in Auckland, New Zealand.  My great grandparents moved here from Wexford in the 1800s. I have very little information to go on but if anyone has any tips for me, I'd very much appreciate all the help I can get. I understand that the Delany name has morphed between Delany and Delaney over the years.
Where should I start?? So far all I have is my grandmothers name (whom I never met). Mary Violet Delany. She is buried at the Waikaraka Cemetery in Onehunga, Auckland.
Thank you for taking the time to read this.
Regards
Pip

Offline Plugster76

• RootsChat Pioneer
    • View Profile
Re: Delany Family in Wexford
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 31 March 12 15:01 BST (UK) »
My mum's maiden name is Veronica Delaney from Columba villas, wexford town, she had an older sister called Marina, a younger sister called Margaret, 2 older brothers called Fred and Tom and the youngest is John.  My uncle Fred lived in Bernadette place until he passed away a few years ago, their father Richard Delaney worked for a while on the lighthouse ships around the coast of south east ireland as his family did for some generations, although he was also a plumber around Wexford town throughout the 60's and 70's which was what he was mainly known locally.  He had a brother Kevin Thomas Delaney. Who died relatively young from a heart attack and my brother was named after him!