Author Topic: My family & The Tolpuddle Martyrs - Hammett, Loveless, Martin of interest  (Read 11277 times)

Offline JSAK

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
I'm new to this so thought I'd post some information I have and that interests me in the hope I can help and be helped.
I have had part of my ancestry professionally researched so what I have is proven, but there are still gaps.
Basically, I am a direct descendant of the sister (Elizabeth Hammett) of Topluddle Martyr James Hammett. Elizabeth's husband was Stephen Loveless who was the son of a cousin of Tolpuddle Martyrs George and James Loveless.
I am also very aware of a daughter of Elizabeth and Stephen (Mary Ann, who was known as Polly) who married her cousin, James Hammett's son Samuel). Polly was the sister of William (my gg grandfather).
Two sons (William - my gg grandfather - and James) of Stephen and Elizabeth left Tolpuddle and walked north to find work. William eventually ended up in Durham and my family followed on from this point.
I am also interested in the 'Martin' name. Again, Thomas Martin originated from the south, Kent this time, but ended up in Durham, and was my gg grandfather).
Another name of interest to me is Liddle - this family seem to be from the north back to the 1700's.
Going back to the Loveless family, my g grandmother's brother, James Loveless, died on HMS Warspite aged 20 years at the Battle of Jutland in WW1 and I am interested in any information around this - I have images of his grave in Queensferry.
I ma happy to share the info I have and scans of the photos I have.
Happy to help and be helped, best regards.
Tolpuddle Martyrs
Loveless
Hammett
Martin
HMS Warspite WW1

Offline JSAK

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Re: My family & The Tolpuddle Martyrs - Hammett, Loveless, Martin of interest
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 12 May 12 16:35 BST (UK) »
PART ONE