Author Topic: Brumfitt v Brunthwaite v Bromford  (Read 1659 times)

Offline GailB

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
Brumfitt v Brunthwaite v Bromford
« on: Wednesday 01 August 12 05:02 BST (UK) »
I have been researching my family on and off for about 20 years and have always known that my surname “Brumfitt” was derived from something different. I have read that it derives from the place name Brunthwaite in Silsden, however, I have great difficulty in coming to terms with this as Brumfitt doesn’t sound anything like Brunthwaite.

I was recently going through the Yorkshire parish records which are available on Ancestry and have known for years about Thomas Brumfitt baptised in Ilkley in January 1696 (my 6x great grandfather) he being the son of Thomas. However, this is entered as BRUNFIT.

What is interesting is that familysearch has this, even though I have seen the record and it states BRUNFIT:

https://familysearch.org/pal:/MM9.1.1/NP85-YXP

Today on Ancestry I found a baptism in January 1666/1667 for a Thomas BROMFORD son of Thomas also at Ilkley. Now I am much more comfortable with the transformation of BRUMFITT from BROMFORD rather than BRUNTHWAITE.

I also believe that it probably took quite some time for the surname to arrive at it’s present day form, since there is a record of a William BRUMPHET marrying an Eleanor Hargreaves in Colne in 1623. Colne not being that far from Ilkley at all. My 3 x great grandfather William Brumfitt was born in Colne, he being a brother to the John Brumfitt father of Elizabeth mentioned in the link below.

http://www.surnamedb.com/Surname/brumfitt

My query is, are there any experts that can confirm / deny what the name Brumfitt has derived from?

Regards
Gail