Author Topic: Kirkpatricks of Dumfriesshire  (Read 11286 times)

Offline Caulleys

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Kirkpatricks of Dumfriesshire
« on: Tuesday 26 March 13 02:04 GMT (UK) »
Greetings!   

I’ve been researching my Kirkpatrick ancestors for over 30 years, here in N. America.  Family tradition claims they came from “Watties Neach” in Dumfriesshire.  My 1st question is, Has anyone heard of this place? 

I’m now ready to step back across the Big Pond and find my ancestors connection in Dumfriesshire.

My ancestor was Hugh Kirkpatrick.  Following is what I know:

Hugh Kirkpatrick   Born ca 1697 in either Scotland or N. Ireland
                                 Emigrated to Pennsylvania Colony by 1729 settling in Chester Co., Pennsylvania
                                 Wife’s name is not known
                                 Died ca 1768, will written in 1766 & proven in 1768
Children:
Hannah Kirkpatrick 1717 – 1772
David Kirkpatrick 1720 – 1770
Hugh Kirkpatrick 1734 – 1804
Elizabeth Kirkpatrick 1735 – 1811
Mary Kirkpatrick 1735 – 1811
William Kirkpatrick 1735 – 1782
Margaret Kirkpatrick 1740 – 1778
John Hugh Kirkpatrick 1741 – 1812

He appears to have had a bother named John Kirkpatrick.  Here’s what I know about him:

John Kirkpatrick Born ca 1687 in either Scotland or N. Ireland
                              Emigrated to Pennsylvania Colony by 1720 settling in Chester Co., Pennsylvania
                              Wife’s name was either  Elinore or Hannah
                              Died in 1772
Children:
Hugh Kirkpatrick 1710 – 1768
Jane Kirkpatrick 1710 – 1767
Margaret Kirkpatrick 1712 – 1781
Elanor Kirkpatrick 1714 – 1752
John Kirkpatrick 1718 –
Sarah Kirkpatrick 1725 – 1747
William Kirkpatrick 1727 – 1769

Both men were Presbyterians