Author Topic: IRISH EDUCATION 1815 TO 1825  (Read 4618 times)

Offline Paddles

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
IRISH EDUCATION 1815 TO 1825
« on: Saturday 21 September 13 04:23 BST (UK) »
My 3xG father Hugh Dougherty, was born about 1805/8 in Ireland. His enlistment papers show that he enlisted 21 may 1825 at Strabane in County Tyrone. He was aged 17 and gave his address as 'Parish of Killmacrennan in or near the Town of Letterkenny in the County of Donegal by Trade a labourer.' I am aware that this IS the address he gave when he enlisted and that he could have been born anywhere.

He died in NZ 27 Feb 1885 aged 80. D/C shows parents Peter and Margaret (nee McTaigue). He was a staunch catholic. He and his wife (Mary) raised four sons and two daughters.

His occupations during his life would best be described as lowly and unskilled, ie, labourer, army private. Yet, research shows that throughout his life he was quite articulate, literate and had very neat handwriting.  This shows some level of educational competence above what is presumed for the level of work he performed.

Therefore, how and where would he have been able to obtain such an education? Was some sort of education normal for children in Ireland at this time or were they used as child labour?

I raise these questions as I live in Australia and am at 'the brickwall' with my research into Hugh. Any information, either specific or general will help.

Offline Yonks Ago

• RootsChat Veteran
    • View Profile
Re: IRISH EDUCATION 1815 TO 1825
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 21 September 13 06:01 BST (UK) »
paddles,

http://multitext.ucc.ie/d/Ireland_culture_amp_religion_1815ndash1870

I just googled this...

also in Aust
Yonks