Author Topic: Workmen in London, 1 Feb 1937  (Read 1189 times)

Offline chrisscales

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
Workmen in London, 1 Feb 1937
« on: Friday 21 November 14 00:54 GMT (UK) »
The attached photo is of my great-grandad George Scales (1887-1946). It is a Jerome Ltd picture posted stamped 1 Feb 1937 on reverse with no other details.

It's the only photograph we have of him and I'm trying to figure out what they are doing. It looks to me like a team of men on a tea break (his companion is drinking a tin mug of something and they're eating sandwiches). They appear to be standing on what might be a work-in-progress seating platform, presumably for some kind of public event. From the buildings in the background it looks like a London park or square.

He was a Wheelwright by trade and according to my nan he worked for the Borough of Bermondsey, which presumably means he was employed by the local council. She said she thought he made wheels for transport, like buses etc. But he may have done other things... He is variously listed at the age of 24 as a Wheelwright working for a Van Builders, age 42 as a Coach Builder, and aged 55 as a Wheelwright, so his job was pretty consistent throughout.

Does anybody have any thoughts as to what a wheelwright employed by Bermondsey council might be doing at the construction of tiered seating in a London park in early 1937? The closest parks to him would have been Southwark Park or Burgess Park, though the buildings in the photo look more like central London to me - that said, I don't know what the buildings surrounding South London's parks would have looked like pre-war.