Author Topic: Kidderminster area help - Bladon  (Read 2142 times)

Offline Helena11a

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Kidderminster area help - Bladon
« on: Monday 09 March 15 09:40 GMT (UK) »
This is long shot but sometime a different person looking at a puzzle can find an answer!

I have my Bladon family back to the late 1400’s which I have been researching for over 20 years.

Many years ago I came across the 1881 census and Margaretta Theodora Bladon (although married to a Walker at the time) was at Oxton Cheshire with an Emma Worrall ‘niece’ and her son William Bladon Edgar Worrall (Edgar) ‘cousin’ (although Margaretta is listed a daughter to the head of the household, William her father is elsewhere). I know relationships were haphazard in the past. I obtained Emma’s marriage and she gave her father as Thomas Bladon gardener. Margareta’s father didn’t have a brother called Thomas however he was a gardener at that time and married in 1850 at Chester although he was from Tardebigge where his father Edward was gamekeeper.

I found Emma on all the census's apart from 1901 – she is with the Gore family in 1851 Chester , at Wrexham workhouse 1861, Lower Kinnerton 1871 – never with her parents. As she gave her son the name of Bladon and she died as Emma Bladon Worrall I’ve no doubt she was a Bladon but who were her parents?

Her birth is anything from 1841-1848 in (Scotland 1851) and Kidderminster. No birth has been found

I decided to look into the Gore family considering she is with them as a 5 year old. They were from Childwall Lancashire and moved to Chester around 1851. William Gore in 1854 was admitted to Liverpool asylum and I've come to the conclusion they are not any relation to Emma.