Author Topic: Porter family of Aberdeen  (Read 3850 times)

Offline Avongirl

• RootsChat Member
    • View Profile
Porter family of Aberdeen
« on: Sunday 12 April 15 06:23 BST (UK) »
Hi

This family has been a blank space on my tree so I decided to look deeper
Henry  Porter b 1.2.1789 Keithhall and Kinkell to a Alexander Porter and Janet Buchan.
I cannot find a marriage between Alexander and Janet on Scotspeople.
Henry porter was a printer by trade and married an Isobella Rutherford the daughter of William Rutherford and Margaret Dougla on the 24.6.1816 Saint Cuthberts
The Rutherfords were from Midlothian.
Henry porter married secondly a Margaret Junor and had two further children
son Francis and daughter Margaret
Margaret Porter married a Andrew Hogg 26.3.1850 Saint Cuthbertts.
Henry's children by Isobella were Clement Porter 1817 and Jane Porter.
Jane married 1 John Brown 4.2.1838 Canongate had one child a son
Married 2 Francis Sharp 13.6.1846 Saint Cuthberts.
Henry porter died 3.12.1848 Edinburgh city has his birth date as 1774 but I think that is an error.
On his death lists his age as 54 giving Henry a birth year of 1794 give or take a few years.
Have added his death from Scots people.
Can anyone help with his parents? Or even siblings?

Image cropped , copyright.

Offline whiteout7

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: Porter family of Aberdeen
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 12 April 15 06:41 BST (UK) »
From the IGI

Name:    Alexander Porter
Christening Date:    05 Apr 1784
Christening Place:    KEITHHALL AND KINKELL,ABERDEEN,SCOTLAND
Father's Name:    Alexander Porter
Mother's Name:    Janet Buchan

*one of my ancestors had the parents marriage date on his birth entry
Wemyss/Crombie/Laing/Blyth (West Wemyss)
Givens/Normand (Dysart)
Clark/Lister (Dysart)
Wilkinson/Simson (Kettle or Kettlehill)

Offline Avongirl

• RootsChat Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Sunday 12 April 15 09:55 BST (UK) »