Author Topic: Clarke & Gallop in Blagdon & Nempnett  (Read 3207 times)

Offline Ruskie

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Clarke & Gallop in Blagdon & Nempnett
« on: Monday 20 April 15 02:07 BST (UK) »
This is my first time in Somerset.  :)

I am researching the following family, and in particular I am hoping to go back with the parents John and Fanny.  I am specifically looking for births/baptisms of John Clarke, Fanny (Frances?) Gallop and the names of their parents.

HO107/1937/277/10
Blagdon
Weston Town
John Clarke head mar 47 farm lab b Somerset Nempnett
Fanny wife 49 b Blagdon
Ann daur 22
Jane daur 17
Charles son 14
+ lodger

HO107/967/4/16
Blagdon
Weston Town
John Clarke 35 Carrier (all born in county)
Fanny 40
Henry 12
Ann 10
John 8
Jane 6
Charles 4

Blagdon St Andrew
John Clarke = Fanny Gallop 1 Apr 1826
wits: William Gallop, Ann Gallop
by Banns and parent's consent.

Charles is the line I am following - he went off to Australia before the 1871 census.

I cannot definitely find them as a couple in 1861. There are a number of possible John Clarke deaths, but none for Fanny/Frances before 1871.

If anyone has any PRs for Blagdon and/or Nempnett a lookup would be most appreciated. I know some records are online on FreeREG but wondering if there are more complete records on CD that someone may have access to.

Thanks a lot.  :)

Offline Ruskie

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Clarke & Gallop in Blagdon & Nempnett
« Reply #1 on: Monday 20 April 15 03:14 BST (UK) »
Added: I have just located the family in 1871. Found John in 1881 - by now a widower aged 80. His place of birth is "Not Known". A possible corresponding burial in 1885 St Andrews Blagdon for an 85 year old John.

1871 census gives place of birth as Blagdon for both John and Fanny.

Also a burial 1875 Blagdon for a Fanny Clark age 79, so age appears to be a bit out but it may be the right one ....  :-\