Author Topic: Completed: Surplus from Belfast  (Read 9363 times)

Offline Degsy1946

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Completed: Surplus from Belfast
« on: Monday 22 June 15 12:38 BST (UK) »
Hi all,
I am researching the Surplus family from Belfast, I am a novice with regard to Irish Genealogy. I have a Thomas Surplus married Maria Smyth, they had 6 children, 4 still alive according the 1911 Census. Of the 4 surviving kids ( all males) I am struggling to find what happened to James, born 1885 who married Margaret Richmond, they had 5 children but it is rumoured he left Ireland, and the family, possibly in the 1920's, can't find anything for him though. Also Richard born 1896, nothing on him, any help or suggestions would be appreciated.
Kind regards,
Degsy

Offline aghadowey

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Surplus from Belfast
« Reply #1 on: Monday 22 June 15 13:04 BST (UK) »
Here's the family in 1901-
www.census.nationalarchives.ie/pages/1901/Antrim/Saint_Anne_s_Ward_Belfast/Roden_Street/953827

The 6 children-
James (3 Apr.1885)
Thomas (18 Nov.1887)
Eleanor (c1892-9 Nov.1908)
Richard Charles (19 Apr.1894)
Maria (21 Jan.1897-28 Nov.1906)
William Wentworth Houston (19 Oct.1899)- born a few months after father died, listed as 'daughter' in 1901

In 1911 it's just Maria & the 2 youngest boys (now Presbyterian rather than Church of Ireland as in 1901)-
www.census.nationalarchives.ie/pages/1911/Antrim/Shankill/Tennent_Street/153237

Looks like Maria and sons Richard and William are buried together at Dundonald Cemetery (C1 336)-
Richard Surplus, 72 Devonshire St., age 38, died 5 Aug.1932 at 51 Lisburn Rd., buried 8 Aug.1932
William Surplus, 44 Queen Victoria Gdns, age 32, died 13 Apr.1933 at Royal Victoria Hospital, buried 15 Apr.1933
Maria Surplus, 44 Queen Victoria Gdns, age 77, died 9 Mar.1941 at 51 Lisburn Rd, buried 11 Mar.1941