Author Topic: Thomas Burrell 1850 - where did he go?  (Read 1301 times)

Offline Kevin Burrell

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Thomas Burrell 1850 - where did he go?
« on: Tuesday 23 June 15 12:47 BST (UK) »
Hi
I am new to this web site so forgive me if this is posted in the wrong area!

I am looking for information on my paternal great grandfather - Thomas Burrell.
He was born on 14th September 1859 to Thomas Burrell and Hannah Burrell nee Lombard.
He married Emma Mills in 1881 and went on to have some 12 children including my Grandfather.
Unfortunately the trail ends there - my father tells me that his name was never spoken of in the family and he believed that the rumour was he upped and left Emma and the kids and went to the USA.
Dad never had the chance to find out the truth as his family (including Emma) were all killed  (apart from Dad and his father) when a V2 landed in their street in the East End in 1944.
Thomas appeared in the 1901 census with the family but not in the 1911 census - Emma is listed as married at this point. Emma remarried in 1913 - but cannot confirm whether this was because Thomas had died or that 7 years had elapsed since he left her (I've not checked, but believe that this period of time allowed her to get a divorce - I suppose I should really get her second marriage cert as that may point the way).