Author Topic: Ivy Cottage in Corwen  (Read 2584 times)

Offline corwendave

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Ivy Cottage in Corwen
« on: Thursday 27 August 15 00:04 BST (UK) »
Hi, I'm new to this way of tracing family history etc so I'm going to start with something quite easy but would mean the world to me. I'm wondering if anybody has a photograph of Ivy Cottage which stood in Hill Street, Corwen in what was at one time Merionethshire. This cottage is where my mother and her brothers grew up. They also lived at number 3 Vale View again in Hill Street, Corwen but just below where Ivy Cottage stood. I don't know why it was demolished or when. But I do know that it stood there in the period of 1920 through to at least 1930. My mother has passed away and I would love to have a copy of this cottage where she lived. My mothers name was Joyce Margaret Hughes, Her three brothers were Frederick Hughes, killed in WWII on board HMS Royal Oak which was torpedoed at Scapa Flow in the Orkneys. Her other two brothers were Glynn David Hughes and Alfred Thomas Hughes. My grandmother was called Flossie Daisy Hughes nee Printer, her husband (my grandfather) was called Edward David Hughes. My great grandparents (parents of Edward David Hughes) were Ambrose Hughes (Tailor and postman in and around Corwen), his wife was named Hanna Laura Hughes nee Jones, she had a brother who was a gamekeeper who I believe had the nickname of Ginger Jones. My grandfather, Edward David Hughes was an engine driver on the GWR in Corwen. My grandmother was a cleaner and maid for a Dr Satchwell, apparently Dr Satchwell's wife was also a doctor and their surgery stood in the main street on the other side of the road from the pub named 'The Crown' and a little way further along the street up towards the old railway station. My grandmother died in 1928 aged 28 years old. She is buried in Corwen Churchyard which is just behind Mill St