Author Topic: Illusive Grandad! Henry Jesse Lovell  (Read 17860 times)

Offline Geraldine Girl

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Illusive Grandad! Henry Jesse Lovell
« on: Friday 19 February 16 07:05 GMT (UK) »
Im new to this form of research so please be patient! Im trying to locate my Grandfather whom I cannot for the life of me find him pre 1927 when He married my Grandmother Bertha Isobelle Johnstone in Aug 1927 at Geraldine,Canterbury ,NZ. He died July 1940 at Geraldine. He supposedly came to NZ 1920 from UK where he was born circa 1879 in London area. We are almost positive the name he used Henry Jesse Lovell was " borrowed" .We have a possible scenario pre NZ but I really need to know where and when he came to NZ.I have searched high and low to no avail! Hopefully someone can help.I have his Intention to Marry details,marriage,birth certs for his children,death cert.

Offline hurworth

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: Illusive Grandad!
« Reply #1 on: Friday 19 February 16 08:02 GMT (UK) »
All the details on the various certificates are consistent, or in other words he kept his story straight?

Might it help if we have an occupation?

Offline TwiggyTree

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Friday 19 February 16 08:19 GMT (UK) »
If there is an alternative name involved, what did he use for his parents names and occupations on the certificates?

Have you thought about following your grandmother's line/family down to someone living who may be able to collaborate?

If he spent all his time in Geraldine, is there an organisation there that may have more local information or where people may have knew his 'story'?
...out of, through, and back from New Zealand to the ends of the Earth