Author Topic: Preferences in organising computer files!....  (Read 5093 times)

Offline cavair

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Preferences in organising computer files!....
« on: Sunday 10 April 16 14:09 BST (UK) »
Hi,
Im no novice with computers, and have researched for many years, but ive not always been consistent in how to organise my files in Windows Explorer!!......I have a separate store drive (backed up!) with a Genealogy folder, then different folders for family surnames/pictures & photos/census/places/maps/areas/counties etc etc.

My census images are in folders for each year, but also in surname folders - but try not to have any file in two places.  (file name generally starts with year, then surname in caps, then first name if individual on their own,  and recently followed by folio number, but not always)   Some images downloaded years ago just have the names and not the year, which i really need to add.
While everyone will have their own system and preferences, Im curious as to know how other people organise themselves!    Put all census images together by year or file them under surname and then by year? Of course i eventually key in details on my tree program, in my case Rootsmagic. 

I will be interested in hearing how other people organise their folders!!
Thanks

BANKS -North Yorks/Durham;  ORD - Durham;  WALKERLEY / HUGGINS / KING - Lincs;   CAVILL - Bristol;

Offline 3sillydogs

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • Durban South Africa
    • View Profile
Re: Preferences in organising computer files!....
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 10 April 16 14:15 BST (UK) »