Author Topic: Ancestry DNA results don't seem relevant. Puzzled.  (Read 1925 times)

Offline ansteynomad

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Ancestry DNA results don't seem relevant. Puzzled.
« on: Thursday 22 December 16 12:39 GMT (UK) »
I’m a complete novice at this DNA lark.  I did the test in October and have had the results since the beginning of November.

The genetic mix surprised me a bit.  I have researched my family back to the eighteenth century, all in the East Midlands, so the 16% Irish was a bit of a surprise and I had expected more than 8% Scandinavian.

I started off with 115 matches, including 25 4th-6th cousins.  There are three on my mother’s side that fit perfectly.  Either they are people I already knew were related to me, or they have people in their trees that are in mine, so that’s good.

Other than those three, none of my matches so far have any surnames from my father’s side.  Many of them have no surnames in common with me at all.

I have just had a new match, allegedly a second cousin, who has also none of my surnames in her tree.  We simply cannot find a great grandparent in common.  There is a connection in one line to the same county, but it’s one of the largest counties in England and our ancestors accounted for were at opposite ends of it.

I’m a bit baffled by this to be honest.  Is this what I should expect to find?
Nottinghamshire: Billyard; Fletcher
Lincolnshire: Beck; Smith
Leicestershire: Goadby; Iliffe;
Warwickshire: Bradbury; Friswell; Gilliver; Beesley

Offline Rosinish

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • PASSED & PAST
    • View Profile
Re: Ancestry DNA results don't seem relevant. Puzzled.
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 22 December 16 13:37 GMT (UK) »