Author Topic: Ager or Alexander for surname  (Read 845 times)

Offline Omajan

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Ager or Alexander for surname
« on: Friday 03 February 17 00:07 GMT (UK) »
We know that our ancestor was Nancy or Ann Alexander Ager.  She had two marriages here in America.  I have not found the record for first marriage to Andrew Forbes or Forbus in around 1830.  In her second marriage record she is named as Nancy Forbes.    Family information we have shows that she came to America at age 4 around 1814, settled maybe in PA or Maine, came from "Protestant" Ireland.  I have been working on Nancy for 30 years and have just about given up on learning more about her.

My question:  Should I be looking for her surname as ALEXANDER or AGER?  I am convinced that if I could only find the first marriage record, I might know more. 

I am not a novice with genealogy, but am new to Irish genealogy.  I would just like to know if someone can guide me as to which surname I should be working with.  Any suggestions are appreciated.

Offline Wexflyer

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • Not Crown Copyright
    • View Profile
Re: Ager or Alexander for surname
« Reply #1 on: Friday 03 February 17 05:14 GMT (UK) »
It would be useful if you could say where you got the names "Alexander Ager" from in the first place.
Also, how do you know she was married to an Andrew Forbes? That information presumably should point to  where  they lived?