Author Topic: Register of Sasines need to translate  (Read 7287 times)

Offline melbatoast40

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Register of Sasines need to translate
« on: Saturday 04 February 17 22:44 GMT (UK) »
Does anyone know if this is gaelic or latin? And where I might be able to get the whole Sasine translated for a reasonable fee.

Thank you
Cheers
Melodie

Offline Ruskie

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Register of Sasines need to translate
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 04 February 17 22:49 GMT (UK) »
Looks like Latin to me. (though I really shouldn't be given my opinion on such matters as I have no knowledge on the subject). ;)

There may be someone here who can have a try at translating this for you as there are some latin speaking rootschatters .... 

Added: Have you tried googling to see if there is an online translator for Latin?

Offline djct59

• RootsChat Veteran
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Saturday 04 February 17 23:05 GMT (UK) »
It's a document from 1784 the twenty fourth year of the reign of George III (Vigesimo quarto regnii Georgi Tertius). I can see reference to a subscription by a Notary Public and to a Precept of Sasine ( a document by which a feudal superior might authorise his agent or factor to give possession of his property to someone else, and to a vicecomitatus who was a sheriff, but you need someone with better Latin to explain the rest of it.

Offline GR2

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Sunday 05 February 17 09:19 GMT (UK) »
If you post it here in sections, the elves will probably translate it for you.

Offline Forfarian

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • http://www.rootschat.com/links/01ruz/
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: Sunday 05 February 17 10:04 GMT (UK) »
It's a document from 1784 the twenty fourth year of the reign of George III (Vigesimo quarto regnii Georgi Tertius).
Definitely Latin.