Author Topic: Granddads records  (Read 2770 times)

Offline missmuddle

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Granddads records
« on: Saturday 25 March 17 18:53 GMT (UK) »
Hi All, I have been researching my family for several years but try as hard as I can, I cannot find anything about my granddads service history. I have all his brothers but nothing about him except a lovely picture of him on horseback. I believe he was in the Herts Yeomanry. His name is Lionel Albert Archer born 3.7.1896 in Sawbridgeworth. I know about the destroyed records in 1940 bombing raid, but with the army usually doing everything in triplicate there must be something somewhere. Would there be records held at the enlistment station ? where would they be kept?. We believe he was gassed & posted missing turning up a couple of weeks later at a dressing station. Would there be hospital records, where are they kept? or should I say hidden, both my sister & I keep looking but coming up blank. He is not the one in the Manchester reg. with the same name. Any suggestions please.

Offline mmm45

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Granddads records
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 25 March 17 19:13 GMT (UK) »
Herts Yeomanry 1/1 Batt served overseas in  Gallipoli,Egypt and Middle East for duration of war
2/1 Batt didn't go overseas.
Could he have been transferred to Manchester Regiment? It's a really uncommon name so if he went overseas he should have a medal card ...could he have served as Albert ?

Ady
Lowe(Lower Gornall-Castleford)
Blackburn (Castleford)
Sidwell(Ledsham)
Fairburn(Hartshead)
Wood(Liversedge)
Tallon (Whittington Lancs/Hartshead West Yorkshire)

Researching all Great War soldiers from the Spen Valley of West Yorkshire Especially lads from the Cleckheaton Company of 1/4th West Riding Regiment.

Offline missmuddle

• RootsChat Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Saturday 25 March 17 19:34 GMT (UK) »