Author Topic: Dating a Carte-de-Visite Thomas LANGLER (senior or junior)  (Read 1382 times)

Offline VirgoArcher

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Dating a Carte-de-Visite Thomas LANGLER (senior or junior)
« on: Saturday 22 April 17 07:13 BST (UK) »
Hi All,
I am new to Rootsweb and I would really appreciate some help. I am trying to date this Carte-de-visite to determine which Thomas LANGLER (senior or junior) it is. Thomas Snr was born in 1829 in Southall, London and his son, Thomas Jnr, was born in St Marylebone, London, in 1862. Assuming they would be maybe mid-20's + this would make the date between 1855-1890. I was trying to date by the clothes (1884?)but I am not sure. There is no background or lines around the CDV and the only other clue is the name of the photographer (Monsieur Louis Frederic De Mauny) and his address (326 Euston Rd).He had a studio at that address between 1877-1911 and his son, Jules Frederic, also a photographer, was living at that address until after 1901. They were also located at various other addresses over the years. I am hoping someone can help me.

Offline AJ100

• RootsChat Veteran
    • View Profile
Re: Dating a Carte-de-Visite Thomas LANGLER (senior or junior)
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 22 April 17 11:12 BST (UK) »
If Thomas Senior was born 1829 that would date the photo to around 1850, if he was around 20 years old when it was taken. This is not likely.
Thomas Junior born 1862 dates the picture to around the 1880's which would fit in with the dress and the likelihood of a CDV and is far more likely.

Regards

AJ

Offline Handypandy

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Saturday 22 April 17 12:26 BST (UK) »
A welcome from me ................... and a quick wash and brush up

Offline Treetotal

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Saturday 22 April 17 13:13 BST (UK) »