Author Topic: James Burns, Newcastle  (Read 1850 times)

Offline flower fairy

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
James Burns, Newcastle
« on: Saturday 24 June 17 13:43 BST (UK) »
I have been doing family history for over 20 years now and keep coming back to this side of the family but have hit such a huge brick wall, I thought I would try here.

James Burns, DOB and place unknown, married Mary ? and had my 3x gg, Susan/Susannah  in Newcastle upon Tyne in 1819 and then a son James in 1821. His occupation went from engine man to weaver. This is all I know about him. I don't know where he was born, even the country but I have a suspicion he came from Scotland or even Ireland. I can't find him on any record or census so assume he had died by 1841. His daughter is a servant in Quayside in 1841 before marrying in June of that year.

Hi son James also seems to have vanished. There is a marriage of a James Burns to Mary Lumsdon in Ponteland  in 1813 but not sure if this is mine. I can't find any children from this marriage.

How can I find anymore about him, (if at all I can). The trail has gone completely cold with him.

Rundle, Beard, Crewes- Cornwall
Green, Tucker- Devon
Dyer, White- Somerset
Gardiner(+variants), Gibson, Watson, Patterson, Nicholson- Durham
Nicholson, Burns, Mcintyre- Northumberland
Mcintyre- Scotland

Offline Radcliff

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Crown Copywrite on all census material,
    • View Profile
Re: James Burns, Newcastle
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 25 June 17 11:09 BST (UK) »
no clues on the marriage record either I see
as the witness were both Dodd's and they seem to be present at a lot of marriages in Ponteland
24h Jan 1813,both of this parish
if this is your James there seems a big gap until their first child is born
Gunning County Down,Kneale Isle of Man,Riddle Tynemouth,Bibby Kendal/Bradford,Colenso Penzance/Barrow-in-Furness,Steele Corney Fell,Chapman Ely,Dawes Alfreton,Blamire Westmoreland and Ulverston