Author Topic: Henry (James) Caldwell - Presbyterian Cemetery, Iroquois ON (Dundas County)  (Read 1114 times)

Offline GSMaxted

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Henry (James) Caldwell - Presbyterian Cemetery, Iroquois ON (Dundas County)
« on: Monday 25 September 17 06:04 BST (UK) »
Hello everyone! I'm new to rootschat and am searching for more info re. my gg grandparents who emigrated to Canada in 1852 - Henry James Caldwell and Margaret (Woods) - please see the following profile on wikitree - https://www.wikitree.com/wiki/Caldwell-5021

Any info re. this couple or their families would be of interest. We have not been able to go back any further and have read that the pastor in the church in which they were married at Clady, Ardstraw Parish, Co. Tyrone, Ireland insisted on having all records destroyed after his decease. But perhaps there are records elsewhere that we are not aware of. If so, I'd love to hear from you.

Offline aghadowey

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Henry (James) Caldwell - Presbyterian Cemetery, Iroquois ON (Dundas County)
« Reply #1 on: Monday 25 September 17 09:56 BST (UK) »
You haven't said where they bride and groom were living when they married- it might be possible to trace their family from valuation records (run from printed version of Griffith's Valuation until c1930)-
http://www.askaboutireland.ie/griffith-valuation/
https://www.nidirect.gov.uk/information-and-services/search-archives-online/valuation-revision-books

In the middle of this comes the 1901 and 1911 census (also free online)- the 1st two complete ones for Ireland-
http://www.census.nationalarchives.ie/search/

All civil records survive, so you could look for records of relatives who stayed in Ireland- Strabane is probably the registration district for "Clady Hill"
https://civilrecords.irishgenealogy.ie/churchrecords/civil-search.jsp