Author Topic: Understanding ethnicity estimates - an analogy  (Read 2176 times)

Offline Mart 'n' Al

• RootsChat Leaver
  • RootsChat Pioneer
    • View Profile
Understanding ethnicity estimates - an analogy
« on: Tuesday 29 May 18 10:44 BST (UK) »
Recently I've been reading a lot about DNA tests and ethnicity estimates. I am a statistician and try to explain things by using simple analogies. Hopefully the following explanation will help, but if anyone has any enhancements to suggest I would be most grateful.

I have a jar holding 100 blue marbles representing a father. I have another jar holding 100 red marbles representing a mother. The father is 100% blue and the mother is 100% red. When they have a child they each give 50% of their DNA marbles to the child, so the child will have 50% blue DNA and 50% red DNA. Any further siblings will also have the same 50-50 blue and red DNA.

Let's look at another example. I have a jar holding 100 blue marbles representing a father. I have another jar holding 50 green marbles and 50 red marbles representing a mother.  Any children they have will have DNA consisting of 50 blue marbles inherited from the father and a random selection of green and red marbles from the mother. That random selection could be 50 green marbles or 50 red marbles but is statistically more likely to be a random combination of both. The children would all have 50 blue marbles and a varying proportion of green and red marbles.

Now let's look at a more complex scenario. I have a jar containing 50 blue marbles and 50 yellow marbles representing a father.  I have another jar containing 50 green marbles and 50 red marbles representing the mother. Any children they have will have a random selection of 50 blue or yellow marbles and 50 red or green marbles in varying proportions. Statistically it is likely that the children will have roughly 25 of each colour, but extremes in either direction could and would occasionally happen.