Author Topic: Anna Sarah EWING birth record 1885  (Read 2256 times)

Offline Liz_in_Sussex

• RootsChat Veteran
  • "We wunt be druv."
    • View Profile
Anna Sarah EWING birth record 1885
« on: Monday 09 July 18 15:21 BST (UK) »
Hi,

I have zero experience of Irish research but have come across Anna Sarah EWING (my b-l's GGM) who was born in 1885 in Sligo according to Familysearch.

I checked this on the www.irishgenealogy.ie site and sure enough, she's there, but it says "Mother's Birth Surname N/R". Does this mean it won't give me any information about her mother? What about her father? I know about her life after her marriage to Thomas JACOB in 1905 and her descendants in England but would like to try a bit of Irish research and seem to have fallen at the first hurdle (well, second, as I did get Thomas' family back a couple of generations  ;D ).

If it is worth me getting a copy of the birth / marriage records would I be right in thinking that the site I've referred to above is the best way to do it - although there doesn't seem to be an online option?

Thank you very much,

Liz
Research interests:
Sussex (Isted, Trusler, Pullen, Botting), Surrey (Isted), Shropshire (Hayward), Lincolnshire (Brown, Richardson), Wiltshire (Bailey), Schleswig-Holstein (Isted),  Nordrhein-Westfalen (Niessen).

Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Online athacliath62

• RootsChat Veteran
  • Dublin, Ireland
    • View Profile
Re: Anna Sarah EWING birth record 1885
« Reply #1 on: Monday 09 July 18 15:34 BST (UK) »
you need to look at the image to see the details - the records are not transcribed, and the index does not include mother's maiden surname for the 1880s

https://civilrecords.irishgenealogy.ie/churchrecords/details-civil/dce4df9899153

parents are Thomas Ewing and Margaret Wippen

Offline suzard

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Monday 09 July 18 15:39 BST (UK) »