Author Topic: DNA Links/matches  (Read 440 times)

Offline esomu

• RootsChat Pioneer
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
DNA Links/matches
« on: Tuesday 11 September 18 19:18 BST (UK) »
I am new to working with dna matches but i am trying to expand my family tree and i was wondering if there was a need to add second marriages and children of those second marriages in order to help locate dna matches.  Many of my grandparents have second, third and sometimes fourth marriages and children with each of them.  Would they produce dna matches thru those marriages?  I know i am finding connections thru in-laws which make no sense to me so i thought maybe its because they are connected thru second/third etc marriages to a grandparent somewhere. 

Offline sugarfizzle

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: DNA Links/matches
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 12 September 18 01:16 BST (UK) »
esumo, First of all, a very big welcome to Rootschat.

If your 4 grandparents married several times and had children from each marriage, these children will still share approximately 12.5% DNA with you and will show up as very close matches to you. With a cooperative match or using shared matches it should be relatively easy to work out where the connection lies.

If you are talking about more distant 'grandparents', e.g. 2G, 3G, 4G grandparents etc, the same applies.
Fred Smith married Mary, Eliza, Susan and Sarah Jane and had 2 children from each marriage. Fred's parents were joint ancestors of all 8 of the children, so will share DNA.

My tree is getting very big now as I include multiple marriages and children, also as many marriages of the children as I can find, especially the girls.

If Fred and Mary had 2 girls, they would marry different men and new surnames would be introduced (Jones and Brown). If the daughters marry and have children, further new surnames would be introduced (Williams and Davidson).