Author Topic: CRAWFORD  (Read 4260 times)

Offline pinehart

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
CRAWFORD
« on: Sunday 03 September 06 05:19 BST (UK) »
> My name is Grant Crawford. I am a farmer near Clare in South Australia.
> I am trying to research some CRAWFORD  family history before my son visits Argyllshire at Christmas.
> My great-great grandfather, Neil Crawford emigrated from Argyllshire in 1839 aboard the Lady Lilford.He was very young, maybe 17 or 18 His embarkation number was 2883.
> I think that he was, or at least his family was involved in agriculture near Inverary.
> Moderator comment: e-mail address removed to prevent spamming & other possible abuse

Doyou have any ideas for me to start.

> Grant Crawford
>

Offline Jeanette H

• RootsChat Member
  • One-Half of Dancing-Duo Waltzing Through 'TARDIS'.
    • View Profile
Re: CRAWFORD
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 03 September 06 16:06 BST (UK) »
Hello Grant,

I did a search on the 1841 Census on 'FreeCen' - and came up with the following two entries:
I searched under  Year-1841 / Surname-Crawford / Marital Status-Any Status / Sex-Male / Occupation-Agriculture / Census Place-Inveraray
and Glenaray ARL 1841
/ Census County-Argyllshire /

I had to limit the search as it was getting timed out, there must be so many CRAWFORDs.
http://www.freecen.org.uk/cgi/search.pl

Address: Drumfern.
CRAWFORD, Alexander - M   50yrs / Agriculture Labourer / (born) Argyllshire.            

CRAWFORD, Grace - F 45yrs / (born) Argyllshire.           
CRAWFORD, Cathrine - F 20 yrs / (born) Argyllshire.             .
CRAWFORD, Gregor - M 9yrs / (born) Argyllshire.        
CRAWFORD, Archibald - M 7yrs / (born) Argyllshire.                           
AITKEN, James - M 6m / (born) Argyllshire.
Address: St Johns.
CRAWFORD, James - M 60 / Agriculture Labourer /        (born) Argyllshire.            

CRAWFORD, Jean - F 60yrs / (born) Argyllshire.