Author Topic: Mary Ann WOOD(W)ARD  (Read 3113 times)

Offline dawnsh

• Global Moderator
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Mary Ann WOOD(W)ARD
« on: Friday 26 January 07 19:30 GMT (UK) »
Hello All

I'm new to this 'branch' of research and have a couple of queries.

Mary Ann was born in Suffolk around 1828 according to her 1906 death cert in Australia.

There is some confusion over her surname.

There is a FreeBMD marriage entry for December 1/4 1853 Lambeth but the surname is Woodard, the husband is correct though, William Sherry. I haven't got the marriage cert yet.

It's possible Mary Ann above is in London by the 1851 census.

94 Holborn Hill, Holborn St Andrew
H0107 Piece 1527 Folio 126 Page 41
Mary Ann Woodward age 26 Housemaid Born Bristol Suffolk

The scanned image is quite clearly Bristol Suffolk

Can someone with more local knowledge suggest what alternatives 'Bristol' could be.

Also, having never ventured in Suffolk for research, what is IGI coverage like for baptisms?

Thanks in advance

Dawn

Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Sherry-Paddington & Marylebone,
Longhurst-Ealing & Capel, Abinger, Ewhurst & Ockley,
Chandler-Chelsea

Offline chris359

• RootsChat Member
    • View Profile
Re: Mary Ann Wood(w)ard
« Reply #1 on: Friday 26 January 07 21:48 GMT (UK) »
I couldn't think of anywhere in Suffolk that sounded much like Bristol. I searched the Suffolk Marriage index (1812 - 1837) for all the WOODARD and WOODWARD marriages but none of the locations looked/sounded even remotely like Bristol.

I searched the 1841 census for a possible entry and came up with one in Bristol - it's possible you may not have identified it as it's indexed under "St Paul" and doesn't state Bristol on the index.

It's  HO107/374/6
Registration district: Bristol 
Sub-registration district: St Paul 

Mary Woodward lived with Judith and Jane. Both appear in 1851, but without Mary Ann - so it looks promising!