Author Topic: Robert Findley  (Read 2431 times)

Offline kasden

• RootsChat Senior
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Robert Findley
« on: Friday 02 September 11 00:18 BST (UK) »
I am new to Rootschat...what I brilliant site ..I
have a 'brickwall' ancestor named Robert Findley who married in Australia(Qld) in 1873 the marriage certificate states he was from Forfarshire but I doubt it as I cannot locate him there..his parents were Robert Findley(a 'sailor") and Jane Hale/s.It is thought that he was sent to Australia as a 'remittance man' by his family and while I can trace his time here until his death in 1888 I know nothing of his scottish heritage or family...I susupect that his family may have lived around Oxfordshire as his wife,Florence Orpwood,was 'sent out to marry him' by arrangement of their fathers and she came from Oxfordshire.
I think that Roberts birth was between 1840 to 1850-ish..he has been a bit 'flexible' with his ages on his various childrens birth certificates...so, you can see my dilemma..any advice would bet appreciated and hopefully I will end years of frustration in searching for his history.
Thanks you lovely people. !

Offline bleckie

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: Robert Findley
« Reply #1 on: Friday 02 September 11 07:52 BST (UK) »
Hi kasden

From www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk

11/06/1843 FINDLAY ROBERT JAMES FINDLAY/MARY WEST  CRAIG /ANGUS 280/00 0030 0118   

11/06/1839 FINLAY ROBERT ROBERT FINLAY/ANN STRONER FR938 M ST VIGEANS /ANGUS 319/00 0040 0248

Yours Aye
BruceL

Offline Forfarian

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • http://www.rootschat.com/links/01ruz/
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Friday 02 September 11 12:19 BST (UK) »
The IGI has an 'extracted' record of Robert Hale, no father, mother Jane Hale, baptised 6 January 1839 at Astley Abbotts, Shropshire, England. Is it conceivable that a clerk could have misheard 'Shropshire' as 'Forfarshire', I wonder?